Sad Disney movies

We all know and love Disney movies so it’s almost instinct to watch your favorites with your babies. The girls and I had seen some of the princess ones and they didn’t really hold their interest too much. So I put on The Lion King. They love cats so I figured this would be a hit and it was. Both Violet and Eva sat there intently.
  Now came the part when Mufasa, Simba’s dad is thrown off the cliff by that asshole Scar. I glanced over at Violet, and oh my gawd, she was crying! Big tears were swelling up in her tiny eyes as she watched Simba run to his lifeless body on the ground. I was actually shocked.
  Did she really grasp what was going on, what just happened??? How could she? Was it just the tone that was being set, the expression on their cartoon faces? I just couldn’t believe that violet, my 2 year old, was understanding the concept of death. Or maybe she wasn’t and was just perceiving it as he fell down and got hurt. But she realized that mufasa was gone after that scene. She felt some empathy for little Simba and there was no mistaking that.
  It scares me to think just how much she understands…
 

image

Leave a comment