Paint

I’ve never met children so fascinated by paint before. Is this of my doing? Am I like subconsciously forcing them to obsess over paint? They wake up and want to paint, they paint rocks, their finger nails, paint each other, paint in the bath tub, hell I bet if I let them they would paint the cat. The other day without thought I started serving lunch to Violet before taking her paint brush away, and she started painting her blueberries!
Is it out of boredom? Freedom of expression?? Control over a substance that I’m pretty sure they don’t even completely understand yet…?  Maybe they will be artists when they grow up or maybe this is just a typical phase of all toddlers and I’m just blowing things out of proportion like I always do. It’s fucking paint. Although I’m sure there are some crazy art majors out there thinking oh no lady, paint is more than just a medium, it’s a tool used to let the soul out on paper! Maybe, and if that’s so, what are they saying with this paint? Should I be concerned that sometimes I see things in the paintings, or is that my dysfunction? I don’t know. Paint is paint and they’re kids and its fun.

image

image

Apple tree by Violet

image

image

One thought on “Paint

  1. Painting runs in the family. Dad used to love to build Scale Models. Have you ever seen Paps train table? And I’ll have to show you some of my Transformers I’ve worked over with my brush. That, and Joe was always creative as a kid, he would make his own levels in DOOM and Duke Nukem 3D. Its really not a surprise that the girls like paint.

    Like

Leave a comment